Mental and Physical Transformation: Kenisha Shares her Health and Fitness Journey, recipes and MORE!

What makes you think you can give weight loss advice?

Nearly four years ago, I can vividly remember my first day starting a “desk job” as a customer care agent. I had several pep talks with myself prior to starting, promising that I would gain better control of my life and health. Growing up super slender and curvy, carrying extra weight around was a foreign residency for me. I’m 5’0 (arguably 5’1) with an extremely petite frame. My medically suggested weight varies anywhere from 97 lbs to 127 lbs.  I’ve danced between both weights, but I rest comfortably around 129 – 135 lbs. At my heaviest weight, I was 172 lbs. Keeping in mind my tiny frame and minimum height, I can honestly say that I had become COMPLETELY UNCOMFORTABLE. Our bodies distribute weight in many ways, for me it goes thighs, legs, face -_- and BOOTAY.  The way my body is proportioned, my arms and midsection expand very mildly when I gain weight (Hence the before and after pictures). That may be ideal for some, but for me, I knew that being “super thick” was not more valuable than me living my best life. My thighs jiggled to their own rhythm and my behind felt like somebody was playing the quads on my back when I ran. I simply hated feeling like I was in someone else’s body. I’d lost about 10 lbs around the time I started my new job and I was slowly earning my discipline daily. About three months into the job, I realized that the majority of my training class had put on large amounts of weight. Most of my colleagues had already created unsound daily routines. This more than likely consisted of at least 2 large meals and unnecessary amounts snacks. Note that this job required 0% physical work outside of operating our PCs. That very day, I realized something had to change! Over a six month span, I created a fool proof routine with one rule that can never be substituted … CONSISTENCY. I trained my mind and body to eat smaller portions, I cut out junk as a whole, and I carved “Water is the only acceptable drink” on my heart. For a solid six months I remained consistent to this routine and achieved undeniably legit results. In addition, I reaped the benefits of better skin, hair, more energy and most importantly HAPPINESS. Below, I will outline the Do’s and Don’ts of my Paleo-esq diet. It’s not a black and white diet, so I encourage you to get extra creative and enjoy loving on yourself during this journey. Nonetheless, I will spare a few recipes and tips 😉

(Disclaimer: Don’t be freaked out by the suggested weight. It varies per body type, health issues, etc. It is always best to determine your weight goal with the advice of your physician.)

I will revisit this journey starting  Tuesday Jan 2, 2018. Via Social Media, (Kenisha Nene Mason, FB @the_conservative_misfit, IG) where I will document meals and implementations. Be sure to join us!

What you can eat:

– Chicken/Turkey

– Seafood

– Eggs

– Fruits

-vegetables

– Nuts

-Stevia

-Agave Nectar

-Olive Oil

What you can’t eat:

-NO RED MEATS           

-No Liquor
– Grains
– Legumes
– Dairy
– Vegetable oils/ Peanut
– No artificial sugars

– NO JUNK FOOD

-No Fried foods

-No Sweets

Tips:

  • Only drink water. (Outside of detox juices or meal replacements) – I suggest tackling your water as aggressively as possible.
  • Keep your portions small.
  • Count those calories! – This sounds tedious and draining lol Nonetheless, you will adjust swiftly and it’s sooo worth it!
  • Become more active– Working out isn’t the most vital part to losing weight, but being active without question speeds up the process. I made the small habit of walking up and down my apartment stairs an additional 5 times a day apart of my daily routine.
  • Cleanse! People sometimes become slightly uncomfortable or perhaps even a little embarrassed when I speak about bowel movements, but it is VITAL! If you’re not properly flushing your bowels (to keep it cute lol) this will definitely cause discomfort, promote extra weight, and even create a starting place for disease. So Cleanse without shame ! 
  • Prepare your mind! – Working on your mind as you perfect the physical is paramount. What purpose does a banging body serve tied to a dingy spirit? Cleanse your mind and space of negativity during this process. You will thank yourself later. Personally, My Daily Devotional Jesus is Calling, kept me beyond grounded and encouraged through this process. Nonetheless, find peace in what fulfills YOUR spirit!

 

Recipes:

Cabbage Soup

READY IN: 1hr 10mins            Makes 20 Servings

INGREDIENTS :

1 head cabbage, chopped

6 onions, sliced or chopped

2 green bell peppers, chopped

1 bunch celery, chopped

1 bunch shallots or 1 bunch green onion, sliced

2 chicken bouillon cubes

1 (1 1/4 ounce) envelope onion soup

1⁄2 cup balsamic vinegar (optional)

48 ounces V8 vegetable juice

2 (28 ounce) cans chopped tomatoes

1 lemon, juice of

Salt & pepper

6 garlic cloves, crushed

Place all ingredients in a large stock pot and bring to a boil. Simmer for 1 hour. Refrigerate all leftovers.

Makes about 20 serving. Perfect meal to cover multiple days.

One-Pan Pesto Chicken and Veggies

Ingredients

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 pound chicken thighs, boneless and skinless, sliced into strips

1/3 cup sun-dried tomatoes, drained of oil, chopped

1 pound asparagus, ends trimmed, cut in half, if large

1/4 cup basil pesto

1 cup cherry tomatoes, yellow and red, halved

 

Instructions

Heat a large skillet on medium heat, add 2 tablespoons olive oil, add sliced chicken thighs, season chicken generously with salt, add half of chopped sun-dried tomatoes – and cook everything on medium heat for 5-10 minutes, flipping a couple of times, until the chicken is completely cooked through. Remove the chicken and sun-dried from the skillet, leaving oil in.

Add asparagus (ends trimmed), seasoned generously with salt, remaining half of sun-dried tomatoes, and cook on medium heat for 5-10 minutes until the asparagus cooked through. Remove asparagus to serving plate.

Add chicken back to the skillet, add pesto, stir to coat on low-medium heat until chicken is reheated, 1 or 2 minutes. Remove from heat. Add halved cherry tomatoes; mix with the pesto and the chicken. Add chicken and tomatoes to the serving plate with asparagus.

One thought on “Mental and Physical Transformation: Kenisha Shares her Health and Fitness Journey, recipes and MORE!

Leave a comment